Nulla facilisi. Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Ut tincidunt tincidunt erat. Phasellus blandit leo ut odio. Curabitur suscipit suscipit tellus.

Duis lobortis massa imperdiet quam. Aenean imperdiet. Phasellus ullamcorper ipsum rutrum nunc. Etiam ut purus mattis mauris sodales aliquam. Sed consequat, leo eget bibendum sodales, augue velit cursus nunc, quis gravida magna mi a libero.

Country information

This section gives a broad overview of Cambodia's generic characteristics, its Location, Capital, Area, Climate, Population, Ethnic make-up, Religions, Government, and Languages spoken including local dialects.

Cambodia has an area of 181,035 square kilometers (69,898 square miles) and lies entirely within the tropics, between latitudes 10° and 15°N, and longitudes 102° and 108°E. It borders Thailand to the north and west, Laos to the northeast, and Vietnam to the east and southeast. It has a 443-kilometre (275-mile) coastline along the Gulf of Thailand. Thailand is located in Southeast Asia and borders Cambodia to the West where the border is 508 miles long, Laos, also known as Muang Lao, borders Cambodia to the northeast and the border is 345 miles long and Vietnam is situated in Southeast Asia and borders Cambodia to the Northeast, with the border having a length of 720 miles.

Phnom Penh

181,035 km2 (69,898 sq mi)

Cambodia's climate, like that of the rest of Southeast Asia, is dominated by monsoons, which are known as tropical wet and dry because of the distinctly marked seasonal differences. Cambodia has a temperature range from 21 to 35 °C (70 to 95 °F) and experiences tropical monsoons. Southwest monsoons blow inland bringing moisture-laden winds from the Gulf of Thailand and Indian Ocean from May to October. The northeast monsoon ushers in the dry season, which lasts from November to April. The country experiences the heaviest precipitation from September to October with the driest period occurring from January to February.

15,288,489 (March 2019 estimate)

86/km2 (222.7/sq mi)

Khmer is the official language of Cambodia. With approximately 16 million speakers other recognised language include English and French.

The vast majority of Cambodia's population is of ethnic Khmer origin (over 95%) Cambodia's population is largely homogeneous. Its minority groups include Chams (1.2%), Vietnamese (0.1%) and Chinese (0.1%).

Buddhism (96.9%) Islam (2.0%) Folk religion (0.6%) Christianity (0.4%) Non-religious (0.2%)

Riel (KHR)

The Cambodian Constituent Assembly

The Parliament of the Kingdom of Cambodia is the bicameral legislature of the Government of Cambodia, consisting of the Senate and the National Assembly. The Parliament is composed of 187 members, 125 MPs and 62 Senators. Parliament has two chambers.

ជាតិ សាសនា ព្រះមហាក្សត្រ
"Nation, Religion, King"

"Majestic Kingdom"

The name of Cambodia in the Khmer language is "Kampuchea" (Khmer: ព្រះរាជាណាចក្រកម្ពុជា; Preah Reachanachâk Kampuchea), which derives from Sanskrit Kambujadeśa (कम्बोजदेश; "land of Kambuja"). It is not unique to the modern kingdom of Cambodia: the same name (i.e. Kamboj/Kambuja) is also found in Burmese and Thai chronicles referring to regions within those kingdoms. An origin-myth recorded in the Baksei Chamkrong inscription, dated AD 947, derives Kambuja from Svayambhuva Kamboj, a legendary Indian sage who reached the Indochina peninsula and married a naga princess named Mera, thus uniting the Indian and local races. In this story Kambuja derives from Kambu+ja, and means "descendants of Kambu."